Milwaukee  |  Waukesha  |  Madison  |  Racine  |  Kenosha  |  Lake Geneva  |  Appleton  |  Green Bay  |  Wausau  |  Rhinelander  |  Stevens Point  |  Sheboygan  |  West Bend
When accidents or injuries happen to you or someone you love...why choose anyone else®
Home > Stevens Point Car accident Attorneys > WI Insurance law in effect

WI Insurance law in effect

A new Wisconsin law requires drivers to have adequate coverage and be able to prove it in case of an accident or police investigation.

New fines, marked at $500 for being uninsured, will be handed out whenever a police officer finds a driver completely without insurance. A slighter fine, $10, will be issued for citations in which the driver was just not able to prove that they have insurance. Some sources have noted that this small fine can be waived if the driver can later prove their insurance policy to a law enforcement agency. A $700 fine comes with a citation of fake insurance policies, which, police warned, will be strictly enforced.

The law went into effect on June 1, 2010, and affects all of Wisconsin. An estimated 15% of Wisconsin drivers are uninsured.

The only state left without an insurance law is New Hampshire. Virginia operates with a $500 annual fee for driving without insurance. Both states urge that their citizens buy insurance, as costs following accidents can be tremendous burdens on motorists involved.

If you or someone you love has been injured while on the road, you may be eligible for compensation for damages and injuries in a legal suit. Know your rights, and turn to legal counsel you can trust. The Stevens Point car accident lawyers of Habush Habush & Rottier S.C. ®, can help you with your case today. Contact them at 800-242-2874 to discuss your claim.

Live Chat!

Categories

Blogroll

Admin